[69629 Closed] Consuming a static [oxygene] library in Swift on iOS

I have a cross-platform library that targets .Net, iOS, and OSX. It’s kind of a trick to manage this in visual studio, but I can build against all three targets with full-unit tests against my .Net build. I’m now ready to start pounding on my library in iOS using Swift, but there doesn’t seem to be a good tutorial on how to do this. I’m new to XCode, new to iOS, and new to Swift.

Most of the available information on libraries seems to be on consuming 3rd-party libraries into Oxygene. This seems unnatural: since Oxygene provides platform-portability, it is way more natural to consume Oxygene libraries in Swift and/or Objective-C. Such is my goal. I’m assuming that since Objective-C doesn’t distinguish Oxygene libraries from Objective-C libraries, this should be seamless. I’m even open to creating an Objective-C layer over my Oxygene libaries. I’d just like to see a good cookbook-style tutorial on how to consume Oxygene static libraries in an XCode 6 Swift project.

If you enable the “Generate .h File” option (should be on by default for libs), Oxygene will generate a header .h file with Objective-C code, next to the static library .a file. Simply adding this header )(along with the .a) to your Xcode project should make the classes available — both to Objective-C and to Swift, as i understand it.

1 Like

Just adding the .a and .h file did not do it for me. XCode lets me add both of these, but my [Pascal-implemented] classes are not visible to the Swift code. I found on the Apple developer site a mention of a “Bridging Header”, which I also attempted, but when I add a reference to my [Oxygene-generated] header from newly-added bridging header, XCode says that it cannot find it [even though it is in the XCode project:

To use a .h files in Swift you do have to setup the bridge header. It’s a little tricky what directory the base is SRCROOT