Creating Common Class Library for iOS and Android

Hello,

I’m a bit new to silver and want some clarifications. What I’m trying to do is create a class library that has some logic to make network calls to backend so that I can share it between iOS and Android. I’d like to use this class library natively in Xcode and Android studio where the iOS and Android teams are creating individual apps. Is this possible using Silver?

Thank you.

2 Likes

It’s possible, yes. It’s a (slight) bit outside of how you’d normally do this with Silver/Elements though, but doable.

The main notch for Silver is that you’d use it for your iOS and Android app as well. This way, you could just create a Shared Project with all thecae you wanna share across platforms, and be done.

For what you need, the setup will be slight bit different, but not much. Essentially, you’d create an Android library project, and an iOS static library project in Silver. You’d then create a Shared Project for your shared code, and have both libraries reference that.The compiled library would then be usable from both Xcode and your Android project, respectively.

Check out http://docs.elementscompiler.com/Projects/SharedProjects/ for more on Shared Projects.

Awesome! So do I put the network code in the shared project or just data structures? If I put the network code into the shared project will the Elements compiler transpile the swift network code to use the android networking libraries? I’m slightly confused…

Put in the shared project whatever source files you want to share (whether completely or with #if java/#if cocoa.); but in the individual projects any code files that are specific to one platform or the other.

the shared project is essentially just a placeholder, Elements will compile each of the two “real” projects as if it contained the combined set of files.