Delphi Threads & UserInfo

Hi All

I’m still new to Dataabstract and just have a few basic questions.

1. My Custom DA server runs well on an Amazon EC2 server. However, opening of Data tables and Apply Updates takes from 1 - 5 seconds. If I call MemTable.Open in the main thread, it blocks it and I cannot display an ActivityIndicator. Same goes for ApplyUpdates. I have been experimenting by calling MemTable.Open and MemTable.ApplyUpdates inside a TThread. It appears to be working and the threads just stays alive purely to execute Open and ApplyUpdates. Is this an acceptable practice? Do I need to do anything else inside the thread? Should I call disable controls on the dataset before I send it to the thread?

2. In my Login function on the server, I set som data for the UserInfo. I have also followed the steps by steps how to create my own UserInfo struct. I have done so, but how do I access such information on the client? Both from the standard UserInfo and my own custom UserInfo struct. Please give me som basic examples.

By the way, I’m using the latest DA release and Delphi 10.2

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Well, after testing ab it more, it do seem that calling the DataTable.Open in a thread messes up something further down the road. Eventually, the app freezes and crash.

How are all you other guys doing this when there is a delay for fetching an writing data? How do you let the user know that something is indeed happening? I tried without doing anything, but most of the user complained that “your app does not work!” I click on this button and nothing happens. Well, 5 seconds later data arrives, but my users are not satisfied with this

Review possibility to receive not all hundred thousand records, but filtered records by some criteria.
if you have a big number of fields in table, you can use ReducedDelta feature. It will allow to send to server only changed records during ApplyUpdate.

You can open/update table asynchronously if you need this.