Java and Swing apps

I’m experimenting with writing some Swift code to target the JVM with Swing APIs. I’m working with Fire on macOS. Bit of background: I’m an experienced Java developer (written large Swing-based apps) and iOS/macOS developer (Swift; I have reasonably successful apps on the app store).

Now, I’m trying to get the simplest of simple Swing apps up and running - a JFrame with a JLabel. First of all, the project template I’ve had the most success with is the console application, and then modifying from there. This is what I’ve come up with:

import javax.swing
import java.awt

System.out.println("The magic happens here.")
EventQueue.invokeAndWait {
	System.out.println("Hello from the event queue")
	let frame = JFrame("This is the frame title")
	let label = JLabel("This is a label")
	frame.getContentPane().setLayout(FlowLayout())
	frame.getContentPane().add(label)
	frame.pack()
	frame.setVisible(true)
}

System.`in`.read()

If I run this from within Fire, it fails to load any of the Swing-related UI classes or resources, although it does spit out the message “Hello from the event queue”. I have cooper, rt and swift as References in the project. The last line (System.in.read()) seems necessary because even though the event thread is running, when execution reaches the end of the file, the program terminates (unlike the Java language equivalent, compiled with javac).

If I run the compiled jar output from the above program, then it runs fine - I get the frame with label, as expected, with no runtime errors. However, this is quite tedious - write code in Fire, build, then switch to terminal in order to run/view the results. What am I missing in terms of configuring the project so that I can just run it from the IDE?

For reference, here is the roughly equivalent Java code:

import java.util.*;
import javax.swing.*;
import java.awt.*;

public class Main implements Runnable {

public static void main(String[] args) throws Exception {