Logging actual SQL commands on server side

Hi all -

I’m very new to Data Abstract, but have been using the ROSDK for many years. I’ve been experimenting and learning how DA works, and how it differs from ROSDK programming, and I’ve been quite impressed.

One question that I have now - is there any way on the server side to be able to actually log to a debug file the generated SQL commands before they are executed? I’d like to see how my DALinq client side code is converted to actual SQL.

Thanks,

Alan

Hello Alan.

Yes, it is possible to get and log SQL statement before executing it. Please take a look at the article “Business Processors” (see it at http://wiki.remobjects.com/wiki/Business_Processors).Business Processors are used to control any manipulation with database. To get SQL statement using Business Processor you need to implement AfterSqlGeneration event (http://wiki.remobjects.com/wiki/BusinessProcessor_Class):

AfterSqlGeneration event “occurs after the business processor auto generates the SQL text used to process a specific type of change (insert, delete or update). A common use of this event could be to track the SQL being executed and log it in a text file for debugging purposes”.

Also please take a look at RemObjects DataAbstract sample “Server” (see it at “C:\Users\Public\Documents\RemObjects Samples\Data Abstract for .NET\Server”). It shows using AfterSqlGeneration event in action.

Thanks.

I know this is an old question, but…is this also possible if you are using Relativity Server?

No. The only way to do access this data would be a Scripting event. Unfortunately Scripting API doesn’t expose these 2 events that might allow one to inspect the underlying database-level SQL.

I’ll log an issue to take a look on this.

Thanks, logged as bugs://81443

Have you looked into this at all? I have a simple DALINQ query failing on relativity server for PSQL and I’d love to see the generated SQL