Server memory increase

Hi,

I am testing a .Net RO server by using JMeter and pushing it with some heavy load. I notice the memory of the server increases quite a bit and does not seem to go down. It can start at around 30mb and reach 150mb. The service method that I am testing with does some database queries and returns a JSON string. I use the using statement for all ADO.Net objects (SqlConnection SqlCommand, etc) so it should be disposing correctly. Is this to be expected in a .Net environment?

Thanks,
Thom

I have no experience with Remoting SDK, but a lot with .Net
And one of the drawbacks I always saw with .Net is the heavy memory usage.
30Mb - 150Mb for a big project is not something to worry about.

More about Garbage Collectin see: Fundamentals of garbage collection - .NET | Microsoft Learn

Note this point in this topic:
Reclaims objects that are no longer being used, clears their memory, and keeps the memory available for future allocations.

This means that a dispose of an object clears that memory, but it doesn’t have to be given back to the OS, meaning that, application wise, this memory will still be in use. This is done to lessen the overhead of OS memory allocation.

Top add to/clarify what Theo said: you cannot judge a .NET process’s memory load by looking at task manager, since the ,.NET runtime maintains its own memory pool, and doesn’t ask and give back to the OS for every single alloc.

For one, GC maybe run lazily and reclaim memory later than possible, if it’s not needed yet; for another, even after memory is reclaimed by the GC, the runtime might not release it back to there OS immediately, but keep it for itself for future re-use (but would free it, if the OS needed it for a different process).

All of that is not to say that there might not be a leak in your app, ofc.

Hello

There might be several reasons for such increase.