What do I need for Android development?

I have FINALLY given up on Windows Phone. I LOVE my 950xl and my wife’s 950 and I loved the xaml development with Oxygene. Over the MANY years that I’ve worked with Microsoft development, they were finally getting it right, until Balmer left. Then it all fell apart. Such good stuff wasted. Oh well.

But now I am forced to look elsewhere. So I got a couple of Samsung Galaxy S10’s.

Now the question is, “What do I need to install from where to work with Android development”?

I know my phones have Android 9 Pie on them. First blush looking at developer.android.com I see something about Q and beta… Where do I find the production Pie stuff that I need with Oxygene in Visual Studio Professional 2017 (or Water for that matter)?

I’m really new to Android, so be gentle :wink: Thanks.

… time passes …

I see in Tools|Android|SDK manager that I have at least some of Pie and Nougat. And “Google Play Intel x86 Atom System Image”.

If I make a new project and try to build it, I get “The Android SDK was not found, is not set up in CooperPaths.xml, or does not exist”

Check out

https://docs.elementscompiler.com/Fire/Setup/ (Fire or Water)
https://docs.elementscompiler.com/VisualStudio/Setup/ (VS)

Essentially you need to install Java SDK 8 (don’t use 9 or later, Android doesn’t work with them) and Android Studio to get the Android SDK, and then you’re good.

Elements should find your Android SDK install automatically, but if it doesn’t;, you can manually specify the folder in Tools|Options.

Thanks a lot Marc. I’ve played just a bit with Java in the past using Oxygene to make a jar for some encryption that a 3rd party needed, but the whole UI and lots of libraries will be new to me.

1 Like

Is there going to be some sort of problem with Oracle and Java SDK 9 not working with Android down the road? Or is that just some temporary thing about it not working?