Which tools should I use for UI Design?

I’m an extreme noob to Elements…literally just purchased a license minutes ago.

When writing applications with Elements, what’s the best practice for implementing UI?

Is it necessary to do the UI on the “native” tools for the platform and glue that to Elements-generated code?

Are there any examples of how to to put the pieces together, or do I need to write some Gtk, macOS, iOS and Windows driver code on my own and treat the Elements code as a library?

How difficult is to call OS functions on each of the platforms, or to link Elements-generated code into OS native stuff?

I presume I’m not the first to ask all these questions…please point me in the right direction, and forgive my noob-ness. I promise to use the knowledge you share for good, and never for evil!

Hey Wilfred, documentation should help you with this. There are Tutorials on how to start building your first application including GUI generation for the platform of your choice. I am also new and I found the documentation to be very helpful, especially the search function.

For example :

Using Fire IDE :

Using Visual Studio IDE :

You may find more information in the docs sub-section of your preferred language/platform.

1 Like

Hi Wilfred. Your post was well timed! I was just about to post something myself. I am a Elements person as of the beginning of this year. Although an experienced Delphi person, I had no experience of C# and certainly none of the WPF UI/XAML approach. It has been/is hard work. I have found the support team to be excellent in both their encouragement and speed of response. Plus these forums are good as well. Trying to convert a many year Delphi expertise to the new environment has been really hard - perhaps my advanced age is a factor (I am “over” 70)

So my advice would be:

• Read as much as possible. I bought 2 books - WPF 4.5 by Adam Nathan and C# 6.0 and .Net 4.6 Framework by Andrew Troelsen. Both were tough but invaluable